Frequently Asked Questions

IONA COLLEGE operates an Access Transfer and Progression (ATP) policy for the benefit of all students. The progression element of this policy facilitates students to progress through the National Qualifications Framework to higher level courses.

QQI, IITD and ITEC certificates have no expiry date – once you achieve the qualification it is valid for life. OFAAA certificates in Occupational First Aid Manual and Patient Handling certificates and CPR/AED certificates are all valid for 2 years. IONA COLLEGE runs update and refresher courses on a regular basis please contact us for details.

ITEC is an international leader in beauty and complementary therapy courses which are recognised by the European Qualifications Framework. QQI qualifications are internationally recognised through two programmes: (1) ENIC-NARIC. Is an international body that facilitates the recognition of qualifications across national boundaries including Europe USA Canada Australia and New Zealand (see – (2) EUROPASS. Is an initiative to make your Irish Qualification easily understood and recognised abroad (see

IONA COLLEGE Courses are accredited by a number of national and international bodies. Your course will be accredited by one of the following bodies: – QQI – ITEC – IITD – OFAAA & Irish Heart Foundation.

In order for providers to deliver QQI programmes, the provider must design a programme to a pre-determined list of learning outcomes over a specific duration with clearly expressed methodologies and outline how the learning outcomes may be assessed assuring the assessment of all learning outcomes. QQI then review and agree to validate the programme which the provider will then deliver.

Grades are awarded as follows:
Pass: 50-64%
Merit 65-79%
Distinction 79-100%

Recognition of Prior Learning is an application made on behalf of learners by a training provider to facilitate the delivery of training with an emphasis on particular elements of a programme where learners due to previously attained knowledge, skills or life experience have full knowledge of these outcomes and so may concentrate on the delivery of other outcomes.

An exemption is awarded where a learner has already completed a module prior to CAS awards and QQI deem that the qualification is still valid and so learners are not required to complete it again. For example if a learner has already completed care skills, they do not need to complete the CAS version of the care skills module if they have completed in the previous five years and been certified.
An exemption may also be awarded where the learner has completed courses at a level higher than the current proposed study. For example, if a learner has a level 7/8 degree they can automatically apply for an exemption in communications at level 5 as the training already undertaken has been at a higher level, if completed in the previous five years.

If a learner has modules completed which they need to claim an exemption for, a copy of their certificate must be submitted to the office and then the tutor will process the exemption on the QQI website when the learner is due to achieve a major award and only at this time. There will be no certificate issued for the exemption. If a learner does not qualify for exemption because of invalid information or if their certificate is more than five years old, the module must be repeated in order to achieve a major award.

Department of Social Protection operates schemes which help can fund course fees. Please contact your local Intreo or Social Protection Office for details.

Yes! You can “Pay as You Go!” We have a flexible payment plan that allows students pay fees on a module by module basis. Payment can be made directly to our office or through the bank.

You can enrol for a course by:
– Email us at or Contact Us on this website
– Message us on Facebook “Iona College”
– Call our office on 046 92 49789 (International +353 46 92 49789).